Reviews

A Baking Blogger’s Guide to York

Blogging on the go isn’t always easy, especially if you’re reliant on limited data usage to keep your readers posted. But, if you’re planning a weekend away this winter to browse for last minute Christmas gifts and check out places to enjoy delicious sweet treats, look no further than York. York City Centre now has free public wireless access, thanks to the launch of CityConnectWiFi by Pinacl Solutions. All you have to do is log in via a social media profile or fill in a simple registration form to get connected!

I love to visit York, especially around Christmas time, and so I have compiled a short list of 3 places any self-respecting cake or chocolate lover should visit to take advantage of all the delicious sweet treats available to sample. And to make things even more festive and exciting, Pinacl solutions are giving away a variety of prizes for visitors and local residents for 12 consecutive days to celebrate the launch of free WiFi in York City centre! Each day at 9am the prize will be tweeted from @CityConnectYork with the unique hashtag #CityConnectChrimbo. To be in with a chance, just follow and retweet and a winner will be picked daily at random at 5pm. And, all the prizes are from local businesses such as the wonderful Betty’s featured below! So why not grab some tasty gifts and treat yourself in the process…

Yorks-CHOCOLATE-Story

1) York’s Chocolate Story

http://yorkschocolatestory.com/the-chocolate-bar

Take a tour through the history of chocolate and York’s most famous chocolate making families! You’ll learn interesting and surprising facts about York’s most famous products such as the KitKat and Chocolate Orange AND you get to make your own chocolate bar. Head down to the cafe and shop after your tour and indulge in a rich hot chocolate or treat yourself to a chocolate fondue (my personal favourite!) with fudge, nougat, marshmallows, strawberries and shortcake to cover and dunk in chocolate. With Groupon currently offering entry to the Chocolate Story for 2 and a hot drink for £18 down from £30.85, there’s no better time to treat yourself and a loved one.

2) Betty’s Tea Rooms

http://www.bettys.co.uk/tea-rooms/locations/york

branch-york-r4

branch-york-r1-1

Visit York’s iconic tea rooms established in 1919 and have afternoon tea in style, or a mince pie with a selection of teas and coffees served to perfection. Head to the shop afterwards and fill a hamper full of goodies for a gift that everyone will enjoy.

3) York Cocoa House

http://www.yorkcocoahouse.co.uk/cafe

chocolatejars

York Cocoa House is the chocolate lover’s dream, where you’ll be blown away by the array of chocolates available to buy and flavours to explore. The shop hosts a variety of fun activities from taster workshops to chocolate masterclasses and making your very own chocolate lollipops for just £4 – perfect for a personalised gift! Whilst you’re there it would be rude not to pay a visit to the chocolate cafe where you’re not only presented with cakes and hot chocolates, but you can try some of their chocolate inspired savoury dishes for lunch or dinner. If you need baking inspiration, York Cocoa House also house a large collection of chocolate recipe books!

4 thoughts on “A Baking Blogger’s Guide to York

  1. I absolutely LOVE York! There are so many good tea shops! Betty’s holds a special place in my heart as I spent a fabulous birthday there having delicious afternoon tea. Next time I’m there I’d love to visit the Cocoa House too!

    1. It’s such a gorgeous place isn’t it!! I’m fortunate enough to be at university just a 20 minute train journey from there 🙂 Betty’s is amazing, I feel like I have stepped back in time every time I visit! Last weekend I went to the one in Ilkey and my boyfriend took me to the Betty’s in Harrogate for my birthday – there is no better treat! You definitely should! 🙂

  2. I’m from York – I had an aunt who was a master confectioner. I grew up with the smell of Rowntrees and Terry’s in the air… 🙂

    Everyone knew someone who worked in one of the factories, and that meant at Christmas we were always well stocked up on “waste” – slightly imperfect chocolates sold off at rock-bottom prices… 😀

    1. Wow! That sounds like the most perfect job! That sounds so amazing, so much better than the “smell” in the air I had growing up on a farm haha.

      I’m so jealous! No chocolate is ever waste to me haha. I’d love to live in York someday and properly explore the city 🙂

Leave a comment